No Service on Lumia 920 Phone. Fixed!


I would get a decent ATT or T-mobile coverage on my ATT branded Unlocked Lumia 920; However, every so often within interval of 30 minutes or an hour the cellular service would show “no service” for about 10 seconds and it will resume normal function after…. until the next no-service loop.

At first, I thought it was the “unapproved” rom that I flashed my phone(pre-amber) with but it is kinda odd if just the cellular(voice) connection keeps dropping. Note: My data is only turned on when I need it, at least on ATT. During my month-long T-mobile service it was always on and I loved it.

So after ruling out that the ROM isn’t an issue, I started thinking maybe the antenna was the culprit but I didn’t have much faith with Nokia Repairs in US. They hardly do their job, at times they made my phone “more” defective then before it went in…leaving the formatting and re-setting the phone aside…I concluded I didn’t wanna go through too much hassle.

Here are two things that finally fixed it:

  • Call your carrier and ask them to provision your imei number with your account. This is important because carriers provide best cell-connection to approved device only. One way for them to do is to have your IMEI register to network. If you swap phones often, this maybe the issue. You can find your IMEI by dialing *#06#.
  • Or if the previous doesn’t do the trick. Go to Phone dialer. Press ##3282#. Field test menu will open. Accept. And then click on the small three dots to access the settings. And make sure, you get the screen below

Toggle

Preferred setting:

Polling frequency- You can set it to 9. It is the number of seconds phone waits to talk back to network if connection drops. Lower number causes more drain. My issue was fixed, so I bumped it up to 9.

Network Type- You can setting to automatic or choose 2g, 3g, 4g. If you choose anything other than automatic and want it to stick to it, click Toggle ENS Off.

And in order to save the setting, exit the field test app by clicking your back button until you get to home screen.

And together or the combination of the tricks, you should have a phone that doesn’t frequently drop connection and actually gets you more juice.

2 thoughts on “No Service on Lumia 920 Phone. Fixed!

  1. I have this problem with GDR2. I’m in South Africa, where 2G has more signal than 3G in some areas, so my phone goes to that, but has almost no download speed. Field test doesn’t work anymore though – has it been restored in GDR3? Any advice appreciated.

Comments are closed.